Surgery Faculty

Dean, Doctor of Medical Sciences, Honoured Doctor of the Russian Federation

Secretary: Suhadrova Oksana Leonidovna
Telephone: (+375 17) 290-98-17

Surgery Faculty is a subdivision of the Academy which consists of 15 departments:

  • Department of Department of Anesthesiology and Resuscitation
  • Department of Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Department of Surgery
  • Department of Transplantology
  • Department of Urology and Nephrology
  • Department of Traumatology and Orthopedics
  • Department of Plastic Surgery and Combustiology
  • Department of Preventive Dentistry
  • Department of Ophthalmology
  • Department of Otorhinolaryngology
  • Department of Prosthodontics and Orthodontics with a Course of Pediatric Dentistry
  • Department of Oncology
  • Department of General Dentistry
  • Department of Emergency Surgery
  • Department of Cardiac Surgery

Up to the 60-ies of the XXth century, the surgical management of 4 departments and 5 courses were carried out directly by the administration and its educational unit. Surgery Faculty was founded in 1963 on the basis of 10 departments and 5 surgical courses. The Faculty consists of 15 departments. The Faculty is the largest at the Academy and fulfills tasks in carrying out advanced training and retraining courses for surgeons and dentists.

Due to the development of modern achievements in high-technology healthcare and possibilities of additional professional development the staff of the department has been changed. Thus, in 2013 the Department of Transplantology was founded on the basis of the Department of Cardiosurgery, in 2014 the courses of Plastic Surgery and Combustiology have been joined at the Department of Emergency Surgery and in a result the Department of Plastic Surgery and Combustiology was created.

The academic teaching staff (112 specialists - on full-time basis and 24 - on a part-time basis) is represented by 136 specialists, including 28 Doctors of Medical Sciences and 77 Candidates of Medical Sciences.

An active member of the National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Belarus - an academician Ostrovski Y.P., corresponding members of the National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Belarus, professor Demidchik Y.E., professor Vorobei A.V., honoured doctors of Belarus professors Ostrovski Y.P. and Podgaisky V.N., are working at the Faculty.

Annually, the Faculty holds about 300 advanced training and retraining courses in accordance with the needs of practical healthcare, which are attended by more than 5000 listeners.

Information about the departments' activities of the faculty on the website of the Academy


Establishments of higher education